Who are we

Our Projects

The SBA is focused on the general promotion of Afrikaans, which focuses especially on Afrikaans youth development. With assistance from various sponsors, the SBA ensures that Afrikaans receives attention on all levels.
  1. Reading for enjoyment
  2. Workshops and Mentorship
  3. Workshops and Mentorship
  4. Language heritage

Staff


Dr Niel le Roux

Director

niel@sbafrikaans.co.za.


Ms Bianca Greeff

Office Manager

bianca@sbafrikaans.co.za


Mr Ivan Ndevu

Office Assistent

ivan@sbafrikaans.co.za


Mr Gerswin Cupido

Office Assistent

gerswin@sbafrikaans.co.za

Board


Dr Sandra Prinsloo

Chairperson

Iconic actress and director. Recipient of the Order of Ikhamanga from president Zuma in 2014.

sandraprins@mweb.co.za


Prof Michael Le Cordeur

Vice-chairperson

Stellenbosch University – Faculty of Education: Language Studies

mlecorde@sun.ac.za


Dr Dirk Brand

Vice-chairperson

Coordinator for Bavarian Western Cape Partnership, Senior Lecturer at Stellenbosch University School of Public Leadership and Trustee of "HOPE" Cape Town Association and Trust

dirkjbrand1@gmail.com


Ms Mari Lategan

Board member

Executive Officer: Marketing and communication - Curro Holdings

mari.l@curro.co.za



Dr Hendrik Theys

Board member

Former vice-chairperson of the Afrikaanse Taalraad, lecturer in Afrikaans at CPUT

theysh@cput.ac.za


Mr Johan van Lill

Board member

Director of Wordwise Media and presenter on RSG and FMR, as well as panel member of the Fleur de Cap theatre prize and chairman of the Fiesta awards.

johan@wwd.co.za


Prof Steward van Wyk

Board member

Head of the Afrikaans Department at UWC

svanwyk@uwc.ac.za


Dr Mvula Yoyo

Board member

Transformation Manager at Mediclinic South Africa

Mvula.Yoyo@Mediclinic.co.za


Ms Karen Meiring

Board member

Head of kykNET

Karen.meiring@mnet.co.za