Who are we

Our Projects

The SBA is focused on the general promotion of Afrikaans, which focuses especially on Afrikaans youth development. With assistance from various sponsors, the SBA ensures that Afrikaans receives attention on all levels.
  1. Reading for enjoyment
  2. Workshops and Mentorship
  3. Workshops and Mentorship
  4. Language heritage

Celebration Of

International Mother Tongue Day | 21 February
World Book Day | 23 April
World Food Day | 16 June
Heritage Day | 24 September
Youth Day | 16 June
Women’s Day | 9 August
Reconciliation Day | 16 December

Staff


Dr Niel le Roux

Director

niel@sbafrikaans.co.za.


Ms Bianca Greeff

Office Manager

bianca@sbafrikaans.co.za


Mr Ivan Ndevu

Office Assistent

ivan@sbafrikaans.co.za


Mr Gerswin Cupido

Office Assistent

gerswin@sbafrikaans.co.za

Board


Dr Marlene le Roux

Chairperson

Director of Artscape, trustee of the Desmond and Leah Tutu Trust and chairman of the Western Cape Government’s Youth Academy.

marlenel@artscape.co.za


Dr Dirk Brand

Vice-chairperson

Stellenbosch University – Faculty of Education: Language Studies

dirkjbrand1@gmail.com


Ms Fatima Allie

Board member

Communication manager

allie.fatima@gmail.com


Ms Mari Lategan

Board member

Executive Officer: Marketing and communication - Curro Holdings

mari.l@curro.co.za




Dr Hendrik Theys

Board member

Former vice-chairperson of the Afrikaanse Taalraad, lecturer in Afrikaans at CPUT

theysh@cput.ac.za


Mr Johan van Lill

Board member

Director of Wordwise Media and presenter on RSG and FMR, as well as panel member of the Fleur de Cap theatre prize and chairman of the Fiesta awards.

johan@wwd.co.za


Prof Steward van Wyk

Board member

Head of the Afrikaans Department at UWC

svanwyk@uwc.ac.za


Dr Mvula Yoyo

Board member

Transformation Manager at Mediclinic South Africa

Mvula.Yoyo@Mediclinic.co.za